San Antonio CHL (Concealed Handgun License)

Starting at just $45.00, this 5-hour (includes firing) Texas Concealed Handgun License (San Antonio CHL) (Texas License to Carry) course allows law abiding citizens (18 years and older) to carry concealed handguns in Texas and reciprocal states for self protection.  Licensed residents may also open carry a handgun in Texas.  For your convenience, classes are scheduled throughout the month, both weekday and weekend.

HB 48 eliminates the requirement for CHL Renewals to attend a renewal class … only an on-line application.  Renewals and current CHL holders may attend any of our CHL courses for ONLY $20.00, space permitting, to refresh your knowledge of the laws.  Just register for a class and put RENEWAL in the “how did you hear about us” block.  You are not required to test or fire.  If you would like to fire, add $10.00.

Upon completion of the CHL course, each initial applicant will receive all required state documentation to finalize their License to Carry applications, including:

  • A Comprehensive understanding of Texas CHL Laws and Use of Force.
  • Texas Concealed Handgun / License to Carry Certificate of Training (LTC 100).
  • Passport Photo Holder / Signature Card (LTC 6) if required.
  • Detailed Application and Mailing Instructions.


CHL San Antonio

Firing from the 7-Yard Line

The Whole Process Briefly Explained

Obtaining your Texas Concealed Handgun License / License to Carry is a 2-Step process, regardless of how people advertise. You must:

  • Attend a State Licensed Certification Class and
  • Complete the on-line registration process with the state. Understand that the fees you pay to the state cover your background check and printing/mailing of your license. The online registration will also include scheduling your fingerprint appointment. After inputting your zip code, you get to choose which store you want to attend for your fingerprints, but again, you schedule it through the state website first. All of this process is explained in our course. 

Our CHL course walks you through each step and explains the entire process … you’ll know exactly what to do. All Texas registration fees are mandated and will not change. What an instructor charges for their course is totally up to the instructor. Once you complete the state online registration will receive your state-issued license from TX DPS. 

TEXAS LTC/CHL Eligibility

A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:

  • is a legal resident of this state for the six month period preceding the date of application (Military excluded),
  • is at least 18 years of age,
  • has not been convicted of a felony,
  • is not currently charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Sec. 42.01 of the penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense,
  • is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense,
  • is not a chemically dependent person (a person with two convictions within the ten year period preceding the date of application for offenses (Class B or greater) involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance is ineligible as a chemically dependent person.  Other evidence of chemical dependency may also make an individual ineligible for a CHL),
  • is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun,
  • has not, in the five years preceding the application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense,
  • is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun,
  • has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support administered or collected by the attorney general,
  • has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax collector of a political subdivision, Alcohol Beverage Commission or any other agency or subdivision,
  • is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship,
  • has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony,
  • has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175.

You will need the following:

  • Federal or State Issued Photo ID
  • Clean Handgun in Good Repair. 
  • One box of ammunition (50 rounds) specific to your handgun. 
  • Hearing Protection (Foam Pugs or Over the Ear Muffs)
  • Eye Protection (Safety Glasses, Prescription Glasses or Sun Glasses work)
  • Proper Range attire (no Flipflops, tank-tops, etc.)

Note 1: No 41/44 Magnums or .50 caliber handguns allowed on the course. 

Note 2: Bring snacks if you want!  Bigs/Valero station close by to purchase while on breaks.


  • You will fire 50 rounds at a target (45″ high x 24″ wide) (B27 target).
  • There are 250 possible points: you only need 175 to pass. (It’s NOT difficult)
  • Firing begins from the ready position, where firearm is aimed/in a position to fire.
  • You must posses the ability to load and unload your firearm safely and unassisted.
  • You must demonstrate safe weapons handling at all times.
  • Malfunctions/stoppages will be corrected by the shooter w/instructor verbal guidance.

Stage I: 3 Yard Line – 20 shots

  • 1 Shot Fired in 2 Seconds                (Repeated 5 Times)
  • 2 Shots Fired in 3 Seconds                 (Repeated 5 Times)
  • 5 Shots Fired in 10 Seconds               (Only 1 Time)

Stage II: 7 Yard Line – 20 shots

  • 5 Shots Fired in 10 Seconds            (Only 1 Time)
  • 5 Shots Fired in 2 Stages:
    1. 2 Shots Fired in 4 Seconds    (Only 1 Time)
    2. 3 Shots Fired in 6 Seconds    (Only 1 Time)
  • 1 Shot Fired in 3 Seconds                   (Repeated 5 Times)
  • 5 Shots Fired in 15 Seconds               (Only 1 Time)San Antonio CHL

Stage III: 15 Yard Line-10 shots

  • 5 Shots Fired in 2 Stages:
    1. 2 Shots Fired in 6 Seconds    (Only 1 Time)
    2. 3 Shots Fired in 9 Seconds    (Only 1 Time)
  • 5 Shots Fired in 15 Seconds             (Only 1 Time)


  • 8, 9, 10, and X rings = 5 Points;
  • 7 ring = 4 Points;
  • On target, outside 7 ring = 3 Points

PASSING SCORE = 175 points out of 250 possible (Not Difficult AT all)

                              OUR COURSE FEE

Qualified Active Duty Military (Fired within Past 10 Years) $45.00
Active Duty Military that Need / Want to Fire $55.00
Military Veterans and First Responders $55.00
Standard Rate / All Others $65.00
  • Qualified Active Duty military: Please bring your military firing record (familiarization, proficiency or qualification) to class for instructor verification.  First Responders just need to bring their credentials.  Veterans please bring a form of ID or something showing you served.

SOME EXAMPLE STATE APPLICATION FILING FEES (Paid to the State when you File Online) (Please Remember you have up to 2 years to accomplish this application from the time you complete your class)

Active Military/Reserve/Texas Guard FREE FREE
Active Texas Peace Officers/Corrections Officers/Jailers FREE FREE
Felony Prosecuting Attorney/Fed & State Attorney General/Etc. FREE FREE
Veteran Honorably Discharged $25.00 $25.00
Honorably Retired Peace Officers/Federal Officers FREE FREE
Active Judicial Officer/Supervision or Juvenile Probation Officer $25.00 $25.00
Retired Judicial Officer $25.00 $25.00
Senior Citizen (60 and Older) / Indigent (Low Income) $40.00 $35.00
Standard Rate (No Discounts Apply) $40.00 $40.00

Fingerprinting:$9.95 (Scheduled and Paid through the state when you complete your online application)